Guinness Cupcakes

I found this recipe on Big City, Little Kitchen, but the site isn’t working anymore, so I’ll actually type out the recipe. The only thing is that instead of whatever frosting they used (I can’t remember), I used a basic cream cheese frosting because I just thought it would go well with the rich chocolaty-ness of the cupcakes.

Anyway, these are AMAZING. You really have to eat one to believe me, even if you wouldn’t drink Guinness to save your life (I hate Guinness), its crazy how delicious and rich the beer makes the cupcakes. The only thing I don’t like about this recipe is that you can’t make it vegan without taking out the Guinness, since the beer is clarified using fish bladder (apparently, it makes for a quicker clarification process..? I definitely googled that..).

1 cup Guinness

1 stick unsalted butter

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

2 cups dark brown sugar

3/4 cup sour cream

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla extract

2 cups flour

2 1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat your oven to 350°F and line a muffin tin.

Put the butter and Guinness in a saucepan and heat until the butter is melted; remove from heat. Add the sugar and cocoa, whisking it to combine. In a separate bowl, whisk the sour cream, eggs, and vanilla and add this to the beer mixture. Sift together the flour and baking soda and fold into the batter.

Pour the batter into your muffin tin and bake this for 25-30 minutes (depends on your oven, mine took 20mins). When they’re done, let them sit in the tin on the counter for 10 minutes or so and then transfer them to a cooling rack.

Like I said, I used a basic cream cheese frosting to top mine (sugar, cream cheese, butter, vanilla), but I think the original recipe did some type of glaze. Either way, they’re going to taste awesome!

Enjoy!